Football team lands eight on All-MIAA squad

Football team lands eight on All-MIAA squad

Alma, Mich. - Eight members of the Alma College football team were honored on Monday (Nov. 14) as the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association revealed its All-MIAA teams for the 2016 season.

Alma, which finished the season 7-3 overall and third place in the MIAA with a 4-2 record, had five selections to the All-MIAA First Team and a trio of players named to the All-MIAA Second Team.

Junior wide receiver Danny Hugan II (Ann Arbor, Mich./Huron) was named to the All-MIAA First Team Offense after leading the league with 1,123 yards and eight touchdowns. Hugan, a second-team selection last year, is the fourth player in Alma College history to catch for more than 1,000 yards and posted the second-best receiving total in school history.

Joining Hugan on the first team was junior offensive lineman Ian Hickerson (Chesterfield, Mich./L'Anse Creuse North) and junior tight end Nick Cozart (Manchester, Mich./Manchester). Hickerson started every game and helped the Scots record 2,176 yards rushing, the fourth-highest rushing total in school history. Hickerson was also part of a unit that paved the way for a school-record 28 rushing touchdowns, matching the 1969 squad. Cozart was a vital part of the offensive line and also caught six passes for a career-high 71 yards and his first career touchdown.

Senior defensive end Troy Gahm (Gaylord, Mich./Gaylord) received All-MIAA First Team Defense honors for the second straight season after recording 61 tackles, including a team-high 18.5 tackles for loss and 11.5 sacks. Gahm tied for the lead in the MIAA for sacks and ranked second for tackles for loss, but recorded the most tackle-for-loss yardage of any player in the league, as he was responsible for 108 yards of loss for the Scots' opponents this season.

Junior linebacker Zac Peterson was also selected to the All-MIAA First Team after leading the league with 102 tackles, an average of 10.2 per game. Peterson, who was named to the second team last year, recorded more than 100 tackles for the second straight campaign.

Junior quarterback Dylan Zaborowski (Jackson, Mich./Michigan Center) and senior running back Nick Sullivan (Flushing, Mich./Flint Powers) were named to the All-MIAA Second Team Offense after contributing to the most prolific rushing attack at Alma College in over 50 years. Zaborowski averaged 214 yards per game passing and threw 14 touchdown passes to rank third in the MIAA in both categories, but also contributed 64.8 yards per game on the ground and scored a career-high 11 rushing touchdowns, which tied for second-best in the league. Sullivan averaged 105.9 yards per outing despite missing two games due to injury and also scored a career-best 11 times to match Zaborowski.

Senior defensive back Justin Thelen (Westphalia, Mich./Pewamo-Westphalia) earned All-MIAA Second Team Defense accolades after tallying four interceptions to tie for third in the league. Thelen recorded 31 tackles and led the team in picks for the second straight year.

The All-MIAA teams are voted on by the league's head coaches.

Alma College had its most successful season in over a decade, recording the most wins for the program since 2004.

2016 All-MIAA Football Team

Offensive Most Valuable Player – Braden Black, Olivet
Defensive Most Valuable Player – Justin Madar, Olivet

Pete Schmidt Memorial Scholar-Athlete Award – Zachary Denig, Trine

All-MIAA First Team Offense

QB – Braden Black, Olivet
RB – Brandan Campbell, Hope
RB – Jerome Washington, Olivet
WR – Danny Hugan II, Alma
WR – Mitchell Bailey, Olivet
WR – Jeffery Barnett, Trine
TE – Nick Cozart, Alma
OL – Mike Stephan, Hope
OL – Eric McDonel, Adrian
OL – Ian Hickerson, Alma
OL – Justin Fairfield, Hope
OL – Derrick Scott, Trine

All-MIAA First Team Defense

DL – Justin Madar, Olivet
DL – Robert Cuba, Olivet
DL – Damon Fuller, Adrian
DL – Troy Gahm, Alma
LB – Chris Adams, Adrian
LB – Zac Peterson, Alma
LB – Aaron O'Meara, Hope
LB – Thomas Gary-Homes, Olivet
DB – Anthony Waite, Albion
DB – Kimani Dooley, Hope
DB – Walter Love III, Olivet
DB – Marcus Winters, Trine

All-MIAA First Team Special Teams

K – Darren Ford, Hope
P – Ryan Anderson, Olivet
RS – Jeffery Barnett, Trine

All-MIAA Second Team Offense

QB – Dylan Zaborowski, Alma
QB – Alex White, Kalamazoo
RB – Damorria Lilly, Olivet
RB – Nick Sullivan, Alma
RB – Mike Miklusicak, Hope
WR – Darius Philon, Adrian
WR – Colin Feilla, Kalamazoo
WR – Korelius Saxton, Olivet
WR – Jerron McGaw, Adrian
OL – Brandon Brown, Albion
OL – Jacob Stuller, Olivet
OL – Mitchell Watts, Trine

All-MIAA Second Team Defense

DL – Me'Lick Miles, Trine
DL – Tyler Douglas, Olivet
DL – Zach Telfor, Hope
DL – Andrew Thiede, Kalmaazoo
LB – Jose Rodriguez, Albion
LB – Chase Cavric, Olivet
LB – Jacob Pardonnet, Hope
LB – Taylor James, Trine
DB – Justin Thelen, Alma
DB – Andy Lucas, Hope
DB – Javon Walker, Olivet
DB – Jaquan Short, Olivet

All-MIAA Second Team Special Teams

K – Cameron Cook, Adrian
P – Connor Storms, Adrian
RS – Mitchell Bailey, Olivet

Scots fall at Olivet, 36-30
October 29, 2016 Scots fall at Olivet, 36-30