Scots Defensive Lineman Frank Furnari named to the Football All-MIAA Second Team

Scots Defensive Lineman Frank Furnari named to the Football All-MIAA Second Team

The Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association has announced its All–MIAA football team for the 2012 season.

Alma Jr. DL Frank Furnari (DeWitt, Mich./DeWitt) was named to the league's second team squad for his efforts in the 2012 season. Furnari finished the season with 39 total tackles with four quarterback sacks and six tackles for loss for the Scots.

Below is the entire team that was voted on by the league's coaches.

All-MIAA Honors

Offensive Most Valuable Player
JaVontae Hence, Trine (senior from Elkhart, Ind./Concord HS)

Defensive Most Valuable Player 

C.J. Carroll, Albion (senior from Warren/Fitzgerald HS)

Pete Schmidt Scholar–Athlete Award
Mario Brown, Trine (senior from Battle Creek/Battle Creek Central)

All-MIAA First Team

QB – Ryan Hargraves, Trine* (senior from Taylor/Truman HS)
RB – Darrin Williams, Albion* (senior from Detroit/Martin Luther King HS)
RB – Dimeko Price, Kalamazoo*** (senior from Battle Creek/Lakeview HS)
WR – JaVontae Hence, Trine** (senior from Elkhart, Ind./Concord HS)
WR – Justin Hemm, Adrian*** (senior from Piqua, Ohio/Piqua HS)
WR – Brian Spencer, Albion** (senior from East Lansing/East Lansing HS)
TE – Connor Parcell, Hope* (junior from Cadillac/Cadillac HS)
OL – Nick Mighion, Adrian* (senior from Sterling Heights/Warren Cousino HS)
OL – Eric Woods, Albion** (senior from Kalamazoo/Comstock HS)
OL – Joe Droppers, Hope* (sophomore from Kalamazoo/Portage Northern HS)
OL  – Taylor Sprague, Trine* (junior from Lowell/Lowell HS)
OL – Andrew Webster, Trine* (sophomore from Fort Wayne, Ind./North Side HS)

DL – Aaron Gray, Adrian* (junior from Detroit/Martin Luther King HS)
DL – C.J. Carroll, Albion** (senior from Warren/Fitzgerald HS)
DL – Alan Mencer, Kalamazoo* (sophomore from Novi/Novi HS)
DL – Louis Danesi, Trine* (junior from Santa Fe, Tex./Santa Fe HS)
LB – Deontae Bridgeman, Adrian* (junior from Warren/St. Clair Shores Lake Shore HS)
LB – Brett McCarty, Albion* (junior from Alto/Caledonia HS)
LB – Tim Klaus, Hope** (junior from Saugatuck/Saugatuck HS)
LB – Caleb Nitz, Trine* (junior from Baroda/Stevensville Lakeshore HS)
DB – Charles Fleck, Adrian* (sophomore from Lake Orion/Lake Orion HS)
DB – Mike Vandermus, Albion* (junior from Harbor Springs/Harbor Springs Hs)
DB – Santino DiCesare, Hope* (junior from Dorr/Wayland HS)
DB – Myron Puryear, Trine** (junior from Plymouth/Canton HS)

Special Teams
K – Tyler Keck, Trine* (junior from Elkhart, Ind./Memorial HS)
P – Dean DeVries, Hope* (freshman from Grand Rapids/Grandville HS)
RS – JaVontae Hence, Trine* (senior from Elkhart, Ind./Concord HS)

 * – number of years All–MIAA First Team

All-MIAA Second Team
QB – Taylor Copacia, Adrian (junior from Utica/Eisenhower HS)
QB – Michael Atwell, Hope (junior from Geneseo, Ill./Geneseo HS)
RB – Dae'Von Robinson, Adrian (sophomore from Detroit/Southfield HS)
RB – Shawn Jackson, Hope (junior from Comstock Park/Comstock Park HS)
WR – Mitch Gabriele, Adrian (senior from Hillsdale/Hillsdale HS)
WR – Taylor Brynaert, Hope (sophomore from Washington/Romeo HS)
WR – Mikael Lott, Kalamazoo (senior from Lake Orion/Lake Orion HS)
TE – Derek Shell, Adrian (senior from Manitou Beach/Onsted HS)
OL – Terry Miller, Adrian (freshman from Detroit/Plymouth Education Center Prep)
OL – John Rock, Adrian (sophomore from Portland/Portland HS)
OL – Erick Helfmann, Kalamazoo (senior from Fowlerville/Fowlerville HS)
OL – Kenny Kill, Trine (senior from Cromwell, Ind./West Noble HS)


DL – Kevin Kleine, Adrian (senior from Davison/Davison HS)
DL –Frank Furnari, Alma (junior from DeWitt/DeWitt HS)
DL –Jake Larioza, Kalamazoo (junior from Fowlerville/Fowlerville HS)
DL –Ryan Armstrong, Olivet (sophomore from Rives Junction/Leslie HS)
LB – Hunter Juntunen, Adrian (junior from Webberville/Webberville HS)
LB – Connor Rzeznik, Kalamazoo (sophomore from Walled Lake/Walled Lake Central HS)
LB – Curtis French, Olivet (freshman from Carleton/Airport HS)
LB – Ryheem Bonivel, Olivet (freshman from Caledonia/East Kentwood HS)
DB – Joe Makowski, Adrian (senior from Maple Heights, Ohio/Garfield Heights Trinity HS)
DB –Noah Keefer, Olivet (freshman from Fayette, OhioArchbold HS)
DB –Blaek Combs, Trine (junior from Rushville, Ind./Rushville Consolidated HS)
DB –Tyler Guzy, Trine (sophomore from Coldwater/Coldwater HS)

Special Teams
K – Evan Finch, Hope (junior from Ann Arbor/Pioneer HS)
P – Sage Alward, Albion (junior from Hudsonville/Hudsonville HS)
RS – Reggie Duncan, Hope (junior from Williamston/Williamston HS)